Let AGC of California know how we can best serve you!

Construction Safety Excellence Awards

Recognizing Safety Excellence

The annual AGC of California Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CSEA) were created to recognize construction companies who excel at safety performance and are committed to maintaining a safe working environment on their job sites.​

Construction Safety Excellence Award submissions will open on July 8 and close on August 23, 2024. For questions about the AGC Construction Safety Excellence Awards Program, please contact Tresten Keys, safety and regulatory affairs manager, at KeysT@agc-ca.org.

Main Construction Safety Excellence Awards (CSEA)

The AGC of California Construction Safety Excellence Award recognizes contractors for their outstanding safety programs and are divided into divisions:

  • Building
  • Heavy/Civil/Highway
  • Specialty Contractor

​The AGC of California Safety Awards Committee will compile all hours worked for each division to establish categories on a sliding scale. Applicants will then be notified about the category in which they will be competing. Applicants will give a live presentation to a panel of judges on October 11, 2023. (APPLY TODAY)

Specialized Safety Award Categories

In addition to the Main Construction Safety Excellence Award for a company’s overall safety performance, there are several Specialized Safety Award categories that showcase and highlight an individual’s or team’s contribution to safety in the construction industry. The Specialized Safety Award categories include:

  • Individual Safety Effort of a Project Superintendent
  • Safety on a High Hazard Project
  • Harry Eckstein Safety Professional of the Year Award

Individual Safety Effort of a Project Superintendent

AGC of California would like to recognize the superintendents, whose job is not primarily safety-related, but have displayed efforts in safety, improvement in safety performance, and involved others in their commitment to safety on the job in the state of California. (APPLY)

Safety on a High Hazard Project

AGC of California would like to recognize projects considered high hazard. For example, projects with a multi-story structure over 36 feet, where work occurs in engineered trenches, or where significant danger of serious injury or death can occur. (APPLY)

Harry Eckstein 2024 Safety Professional of the Year Award

​The safety profession is made of men and women who have devoted their careers to making our workplaces safer. The winner will be honored at the AGC of California Installation & Awards Gala, in February 2024 in San Francisco. Some safety professionals go far and above the call of duty in their devotion to preserving quality of life in the workforce. Many go far above and beyond the borders of their employer, distinguishing him or her by giving back to the industry. This prestigious award exemplifies the most dedicated and innovative professionals and their active participation in the advancement of the safety management process both within their company and in the construction industry. This is an opportunity for the safety professional to be recognized by their company’s senior management in nomination and by their peers in achieving this award. An application fee of $150 must accompany the nomination. (APPLY)

2024 Legacy Sponsors