Let AGC of California know how we can best serve you!

Legal & Public Policy Resources

Understand the Law

The legal landscape of running a business is constantly changing. We’re at the forefront of these changes, and understand the importance of keeping you informed about legal trends and issues, and helping you navigate the world of construction law compliance.

Legal Hotline

Online Contract Document Subscription

Save time on your legal projects with a subscription to AGC’s Online Contract Documents, a suite of 26 standard industry contract forms. All forms come with pre-designated customizable fields, which can be tailored to your projects.  A subscription ensures that your construction contracts always contain the latest language and legal requirements.

If you have any questions on the forms, or if you would like to subscribe now, please call 916.371.2422 ext. 5.

Legal Hotline

AGC’s Legal Advisory Committee is a no-cost service for our members. You may submit legal questions related to any area of the construction industry including, but not limited to, contractual language, compliance, regulatory, labor, employment, and certification. Submit your online request or call us at (916) 371-2422 .  Responses will be sent within 24 hours.

Legal Advisory Committee (LAC)

Made up of an exceptional mix of legal firms, in-house counsel, and forensic accountants, the Legal Advisory Committee (LAC) works to understand the impact of new laws, regulations, and judicial decisions. We urge all member companies, particularly those with general counsel on staff, to join the LAC to network and address pertinent construction industry issues.

Attorney members can earn MCLE (legal continuing education) credit for participating in LAC committee meetings, certain seminars and the LAC Annual Legal Retreat. For more information, or to join, email Mary Alyssa Rancier at RancierM@agc-ca.org.

  • Chair – Brenda Radmacher (Akerman LLP)
  • Vice-Chair – Jessica Bogo (Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP)

Project Labor Agreements (PLAs)

We believe that if a government agency is going to implement a mandated labor agreement, then contractors must be at the table to provide practical and real-world input on how construction projects are actually managed and executed. Lack of contractor input on such agreements can erode the benefits of the competitive bidding process, and cause resources to be spent on additional administrative requirements, rather than the actual construction of the project itself. Agencies and their projects directly benefit from the expertise provided by the contractors who manage day-to-day construction processes. PLAs affect both union and open shop contractors, and AGC strives to ensure that the interests of all industry stakeholders are addressed.

Log in to the Member Portal to download Project Labor Agreement (PLA) resources such as a template comment letter, matrix of identified PLAs, and more.

Legal & Public Policy Resources

Full Position Paper

Log in to the Member Portal to read our position paper on Government-Mandated Project Labor Agreements (GMLA), also known as Project Labor Agreements (PLA), Project Stabilization Agreements (PSA), or Community Workforce Agreements (CWA). This paper was adopted by the AGC Board of Directors in 2019.

PLA Comment Letter

Log in to the Member Portal to download this sample template letter (word document) if your company chooses to provide comments during the PLA development process.

Skilled & Trained Workforce Legislation

Statutes that require the use of a skilled and trained workforce.

2024 Legacy Sponsors